Review: Gil’s All Fright Diner

Gil's All Fright Diner
Gil’s All Fright Diner by A. Lee Martinez
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book was recommended to me, and I really enjoyed it. I wasn’t thrilled with the characterization of Loretta, which relied a bit too much on fat jokes, but the characters were otherwise well drawn and interesting. Vampire Earl and werewolf Duke’s sometimes-uneasy camaraderie rings true, and the situation they find themselves in features a sort of Lovecraftian pastiche that’s more loving homage than rip-off.

Bonus points, of course, for setting the story in my native land of Texas. Very disappointed that the animated feature of this work has apparently fallen through, and also that Martinez doesn’t do sequels, but neither of those facts detracts from this story. A fun, quick read that I recommend to anyone who likes humor with their horror.

View all my reviews

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

